Friday, January 20, 2006

Question?

I received a email from someone who visits this blog. He says that sometimes when he visits my blog he get a spyware file that tries to download to his computer, it is masquerading as a official microsoft file. I visit my blog several times a day and have never had this happen, but I believe I have such things blocked. Has anyone else ever had this happen?

4 comments:

AB5SY said...

It also happen to me twice yesterday, both times I just used the tag to delete it. It now appears to have stopped, no pop-up.

When I first started blogging, I used a lot of the free tools from Bravehart, several readers advised me their browsers were being hi-jacked by multible adware pop-up's. I've removed or reaplaced the frre Bravehart stuff (counters, clock,guestbook, etc, etc) and have received no complaints since.

All most all free add on's come with a price (spyware, adware, trac'n ware, cookies) some are un-noticed, others are a pain. it's the nature of the advancements in software used on todays internet.

Have you added any free to use thingy to your blog template or settings lately ? then again there could have been some code embedded in a pix you used.....

Whatever, yesterdays pop-up is nolonger happening here.

Alfred Lehmberg said...

Never.

alienview@adelphia.net
www.AlienView.net
AVG Blog -- http://alienviewgroup.blogspot.com/

DA said...

Nope, but I do have weird dreams afterwards..

LesleyinNM said...

I haven't added any free stuff to my blog lately. Not since the frappr map stuff which I think was around the 1st of Jan. I wonder if it could be something I blogger botted? If that is the case I have no idea which it would be. Hopefully it will stop once whatever post it was goes into the archives.